Current News

1 July 2017
RAMP User Group Meeting 16–20 October 2017

The upcoming 2017 domestic Radiation Protection Code Analysis and Maintenance Program (RAMP) User Group meeting will be held 16–20 October 2017 at the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) headquarters in Rockville, Maryland.

Meeting participation includes code training workshops and numerous opportunities to interact with code developers/experts and fellow code users to learn, share experiences, and suggest improvements.

RAMP is coordinated by the NRC, and its membership includes both domestic and international organizations.

The purpose of RAMP is to support efforts to obtain a well thought out view of the accuracy and validity of NRC radiation protection/dose assessment (RP/DA) computer codes over their range of applicability, while suggesting possible improvements, as needed, to the codes.

RP/DA computer codes currently part of RAMP include:




• DandD






• Radiological Toolbox

For more information about RAMP and to register for the meeting, visit


20 June 2017
TEPRSSC Looking for New Members

The Food and Drug Administration (FDA) is requesting nominations for members to serve on the Technical Electronic Product Radiation Safety Standards Committee (TEPRSSC) in the Center for Devices and Radiological Health.

The FDA seeks to include the views of women and men, members of all racial and ethnic groups, and individuals with and without disabilities on its advisory committees and, therefore, encourages nominations of appropriately qualified candidates from these groups. Nominations received on or before 14 August 2017 will be given first consideration for membership on TEPRSSC. Nominations received after 14 August 2017 will be considered for nomination to the committee as later vacancies occur.

All nominations for membership should be sent electronically by accessing FDA's Advisory Committee Membership Nomination Portal or by mail to Advisory Committee Oversight and Management Staff, Food and Drug Administration, 10903 New Hampshire Ave., Bldg. 32, Rm. 5103, Silver Spring, MD 20993-0002. Information about becoming a member on an FDA advisory committee can also be obtained by visiting FDA's website.

The committee provides advice and consultation to the commissioner of food and drugs on the technical feasibility, reasonableness, and practicability of performance standards for electronic products to control the emission of radiation from such products and may recommend electronic product radiation safety standards to the commissioner for consideration.

The committee consists of a core of 15 voting members, including the chair. Members and the chair are selected by the commissioner or designee from among authorities knowledgeable in the fields of science or engineering, applicable to electronic product radiation safety. Members will be invited to serve for overlapping terms of up to four years. Terms of more than two years are contingent upon the renewal of the committee by appropriate action prior to its expiration.

The link for the complete announcement can be found on the Federal Register online and in the printed Federal Register.

Health Physics Society (HPS) members can nominate themselves or others following instructions linked above. If you would like an HPS endorsement of a nomination, please send your request to HPS Executive Director Brett Burk and copy Jill Drupa, who will take appropriate action with HPS officers and the HPS Board of Directors to assure consideration of the request.


1 June 2017
Calculating Radon Dose the ICRP Way

In 2010, the International Commission on Radiological Protection changed its recommendations for how to calculate effective dose from radon. The new approach uses reference biokinetic and dosimetric models, rather than epidemiological data. A recent article by J.W. Marsh, D. Laurier, and M. Tirmache in Radiation Protection Dosimetry explains and compares both approaches.

Marsh and colleagues apply the dosimetric approach, using it to calculate indoor and mine workers' doses from radon and radon progeny. They compare their results to those obtained using the epidemiological approach, noting that "the good consistency between the two approaches is remarkable but it does not indicate accuracy or precision in the estimates as there are uncertainties associated with both approaches."


23 May 2017
SAFETY Guidelines for Journalists: Radiation Incidents

The report SAFETY Guidelines for Journalists: Radiation Incidents, resulting from a 2016 workshop, is available on the Stanley Foundation website. The workshop for international journalists was held in Rotterdam, the Netherlands, was funded by the Stanley Foundation, and was supported by the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) and the Atomic Reporters in an effort to increase the understanding of radiation incidents and how to better report on this technical topic. There were many subject-matter experts at the workshop, along with many IAEA and European experts. The workshop was well represented with the lead European, U.S., and Middle Eastern journalists (BBC, NPR, CNN, Business Today, Arms Control, Al-Jazeera, etc.) who routinely cover radiation-related topics. The resulting report of the workshop will be of special interest to journalists due to the included infographics.

The report's guidelines provide basic safety information for the protection of journalists that can be conveyed to the public to limit the risk of radiation exposure. The guide will be translated into language versions for international use. Carolyn Mac Kenzie, its author, is a recognized radiation protection specialist. Feedback on the guide was received from specialists in the fields of health physics, emergency response, and journalism. The Stanley Foundation and Atomic Reporters encourage use of this report for educational purposes. Any part of the material may be duplicated with proper acknowledgment.


4 May 2017
2017 HPS Award Winners
The Health Physics Society (HPS) Awards Committee is pleased to recognize the following individuals for their outstanding contributions to the HPS and to the profession and practice of health physics. The nominating person, chapter, or section is listed in parentheses after the names. The awardees will be recognized at the 2017 HPS Annual Meeting in Raleigh, North Carolina, on 11 July. Congratulations on your achievements!
Distinguished Public Service Award: Michael Ryan
Distinguished Scientific Achievement Award: John Zimbrick (Central Rocky Mountain Chapter)
Elda E. Anderson Award: Jason Davis (East Tennessee Chapter)
Fellow Award:  
  • Bruce Busby (Cascade Chapter)
  • Kelly Classic (Jan Braun)
  • Lawrence Dauer (Dennis Quinn)
  • Jacob Kamen (Dennis Quinn)
  • Kyle Kleinhans (East Tennessee Chapter - Wade Adams)
  • Kenneth Krieger (South Texas Chapter - Susanne Savely)
  • Ted Lazo (Gen Roessler)
  • William Morris (Military Section – Greg Komp)
  • Joseph Shonka (Atlanta Chapter)
Founders Award: George Chabot (New England Chapter)
Health Physics Honor Roll:
  • David Alberth (Baltimore-Washington Chapter)
  • Kenneth Eger (East Tennessee Chapter)
  • Jeff Leavey (Mark Linsley)


This page last updated Saturday July 22 2017. News Archive | Site Map | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer | Webmaster
Home Chapters Sections Affiliates Ask the Experts Employment Meetings The Lighter Side