Society News Archive

9 July 2012
Macfarlane Becomes NRC Chair

Allison Macfarlane, PhD, was sworn into office on 9 July 2012 as chair of the Nuclear Regulatory Commission.

Dr. Macfarlane succeeds Gregory Jaczko, who stepped down as chairman following conflicts with fellow commissioners. She will serve out the remainder of Mr. Jaczko's term, which expires on 30 June 2013.

The Senate confirmed and extended the term of Commissioner Kristine Svinicki to 2017.

Read more about Dr. MacFarlane here.