Society News Archive

20 October 2001

On October 19, 2001, President Bush announced his intention to appoint eight individuals to serve as Members of the Advisory Board on Radiation and Worker Health. His appointments include two Past Presidents of the Health Physics Society (HPS), Dr. Paul L. Ziemer and Dr. Genevieve S. Roessler. He also announced his intention to designate Dr. Ziemer as Chair of the Board.

The Presidential-appointed Advisory Board on Radiation and Worker Health was established by the Energy Employees Occupational Illness Compensation Program Act. The duties of the Board are to advise the President on (1) the development of guidelines for making determinations as to whether an individual sustained a cancer in the performance of his or her duty at a Department of Energy (DOE) facility, (2) the scientific validity and quality of dose estimation and reconstruction performed in support of the compensation program, and (3) such other matters regarding radiation and worker health in the DOE as the President considers appropriate.

HPS President Paul S. Rohwer nominated eleven HPS members for consideration for membership on the Board, including Drs. Ziemer and Roessler. HPS members may view Rohwer's letter of January 2, 2001, by clicking here.

Dr. Ziemer is a Professor Emeritus at Purdue University and served as HPS President in 1975-1976. Dr. Roessler is a Professor Emeritus at the University of Florida, Gainesville, and served as HPS President in 1990-1991.

Other appointees to the Board are Henry Anderson of Wisconsin, Roy Lynch DeHart of Tennessee, Sally Gadola of Tennessee, James M. Melius of New York, Wanda Iris Munn of Washington, and Robert W. Presley of Tennessee.