

NRC NEWS

U.S. NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

Office of Public Affairs Telephone: 301/415-8200 Washington, D.C. 20555-0001 E-mail: opa@nrc.gov

Site: http://www.nrc.gov

No. 08-134 July 22, 2008

NRC NAMES NEW MEMBER TO ADVISORY COMMITTEE ON REACTOR SAFEGUARDS

The Nuclear Regulatory Commission has appointed Dr. Michael T. Ryan to its Advisory Committee on Reactor Safeguards (ACRS), an independent group of technical experts which advises the Commission on licensing and operation of nuclear power plants and related safety issues. Dr. Ryan previously chaired the Advisory Committee on Nuclear Waste & Materials, which was merged into the ACRS earlier this year.

Michael T. Ryan, Ph.D., C.H.P., is an independent consultant in radiological sciences and health physics. He has served on a number of national councils, including the Technical Advisory Control Council for the state of South Carolina for 19 years, and the National Council on Radiation Protection and Measurements since 1992. He is an adjunct faculty member at Texas A&M University and Vanderbilt University. Dr. Ryan has served as the editor-in-chief of the journal Health Physics since 2000. Prior to his career as a health physicist, he served as vice president and general manager for Chem-Nuclear Systems, Inc.

Dr. Ryan received his doctorate in 1982 from the Georgia Institute of Technology, where he was later inducted into the Academy of Distinguished Alumni.

The other members of the ACRS are:

- Dr. Said Abdel-Khalik, (Member-at-Large), Southern Nuclear Distinguished Professor, George W. Woodruff School of Mechanical Engineering, Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta, Ga.;
- Dr. George E. Apostolakis, professor of Nuclear Science and Engineering, and professor of Engineering Systems, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, Mass.;
- Dr. Joseph S. Armijo, adjunct professor of Materials Science and Engineering at the University of Nevada, Reno:
- Dr. Sanjoy Banerjee, professor of Chemical Engineering, University of California at Santa
- **Dr. Dennis C. Bley**, president of Buttonwood Consulting, Inc., and principal of The WrethWood Group, Oakton, Va.;

- **Dr. Mario V. Bonaca** (Vice-Chairman), retired director, Nuclear Engineering Department, Northeast Utilities, Conn.;
- **Dr. Michael Corradini**, professor and chairman of the Department of Engineering Physics, University of Wisconsin;
- Mr. Otto L. Maynard, retired chief executive officer, Wolf Creek Nuclear Operating Corp., Kan.;
- **Dr. Dana A. Powers**, senior scientist, Nuclear Facilities Safety Department, Sandia National Laboratories, Albuquerque, N.M.;
- **Dr. William J. Shack**, (Chairman), retired associate director, Energy Technology Division, Argonne National Laboratory, Argonne, Ill.;
- **Mr. John Sieber**, retired senior vice president, Nuclear Power Division, Duquesne Light Co., Pittsburgh, Pa.; and
- John W. Stetkar, principal of Stetkar & Associates and technical expert for the International Atomic Energy Agency, Lake Forest, Calif.

###

News releases are available through a free *listserv* subscription at the following Web address: http://www.nrc.gov/public-involve/listserver.html. The NRC homepage at www.nrc.gov also offers a SUBSCRIBE link. E-mail notifications are sent to subscribers when news releases are posted to NRC's Web site.