Management of Terrorism Symposium

Robert J. Feinberg, Symposium Chairman

Several northeast Health Physics Society (HPS) chapters will host an upcoming one-day symposium, "Management of Terrorist Events Involving Nuclear Reactors or Radioactive Materials," to be held on 8 October 2002 in Albany, New York.

The purpose of the symposium is to inform technical personnel of matters important to their mission, such as analyses of the degree of severity of possible incidents, the possible radionuclides and their physical and chemical forms, standards for immediate and longer-term protection, and management and responsibility issues.

Symposium hosts are the Northeastern New York Chapter, the Greater New York Chapter, and the New England Chapter. Advanced registration, at a reduced cost, and detailed symposium information may be found on the HPS "Other Events" Web page

(www.hps.org/newsandevents/otherevents.html) or the New England Chapter Web site (http://www.nechps.org/terrorism_meeting.html).

For additional questions on registration contact Norman Slagle, HPS Symposium, PO Box 204, Rexford, NY 12148, or jns172@empireone.net.

Contact either of the following for general symposium questions: Wayne Pickup, HPS Symposium, P.O. Box 204, Rexford, NY 12148 (elderwine@aol.com, 518-399-2163 H); Michael Martinkat, HPS Symposium, PO Box 204, Rexford, NY 12148 (katman@albany.net, 518-783-8151 H).

Symposium Speakers

- 1. George Anastas, Past President, Health Physics Society
- 2. Dr. Ian Scott Hamilton, Professor, Department of Nuclear Engineering, Texas A&M, Member of NCRP Report 138, "Management of Terrorist Events Involving Radioactive Materials"
- 3. Dr. Joseph Indusi, Chairman, Non-Proliferation and National Security Department, Brookhaven National Laboratory
- 4. Dr. Kerry Thomas, Program Manager, Office of Domestic Preparedness, U.S. Department of Justice
- 5. Steven Centore, Brookhaven Area Office, U.S. Department of Energy
- 6. Representative, U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
- 7. Dr. Frank Marcinowski, Director, Radiation Protection Division, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
- 8. James Tarzia, Owner-Operator, Radiation Safety and Control Service
- 9. Michael Slobodien, Director, Emergency Programs, Entergy Nuclear
- 10. Representative, Nuclear Energy Institute

- 11. Dr. Robert Burhans, Assistant Division Director, Environmental Health Protection, New York State Department of Health
- 12. Andrew Feeney, New York State Emergency Management Office
- 13. Sam Speedy, Senior Policy Advisor, Office of Public Security, New York State Governor's Office
- 14. Dr. Marvin Goldman, Professor of Physics, Emeritus, University of California
- 15. Dr. Allen Brodsky, Chairman, HPS Ad Hoc Committee on Homeland Security
- 16. Dr. Bernard Cohen, Professor of Physics, Emeritus, University of Pittsburgh