

HEALTH PHYSICS SOCIETY

Specialists in Radiation Safety

950 Herndon Parkway, Suite 450 Herndon, Virginia 20170 703-790-1745 HPS@BurkInc.com www.hps.org

To: Dr. Thomas Johnson, Professor, Department of Environmental & Radiological Health Sciences, Colorado State

University

Re: Letter of Support for CSU-Led Proposal to the DOE Nuclear Reactor Safety Training and Workforce

Development Program (DE-FOA-0003410)

Date: December 13, 2024

Dear Dr. Johnson,

This letter is to confirm that the Health Physics Society supports the "Health Physics Nuclear Workforce Consortium" which is led by Colorado State University and funded by the Department of Energy Nuclear Reactor Safety Training and Workforce Development Program (DE-FOA-0003410). We are excited to see this Consortium come together, as its members have an exceptional depth of expertise in the education and training of professional level health physicists.

All consortia members are active in the Health Physics Society and have demonstrated considerable dedication to the future of the profession. The Health Physics Society is excited by the project's emphasis on developing and training the next generation of health physicists that will support existing and new nuclear reactor sites, fuel cycle facilities, and the many areas where the demand for HPs is increasingly dire. The HPS has long recognized the need for more professional health physicists, and strongly believes this consortium is a first step towards increasing the population of HPs that are ready for the workforce, in the energy sector and beyond.

If awarded, HPS will gladly support special sessions at annual meetings and special journal issues. The HPS also offers student scholarships and fellowships and will continue to look for innovative ways to facilitate student support and involvement in the profession.

If you have questions or concerns, please don't hesitate to reach out to Liz Brackett, ebrackett@mjwcorp.com.

Sincerely,

Cfaut/ M. Brackett, CHP
HPS President 2023-2025

Mike Lewandowski

HPS President-Elect, 2024-2025

michael Susa Dosti