# North Central Chapter Report for HPS Society Year 2011-2012

### **General Information**

Official Year: October - September

#### **Mailing Address:**

Jan Braun Executive Secretary, Mayo Clinic B-28 Medical Sciences Building Rochester, MN 55905 jbraun@mayo.edu

#### **Dues Information:**

Plenary: \$10.00 Associate: n/a Student: \$0.00 Emeritus: \$0.00

Life: n/a

Affiliate: \$25.00

Charter Date: 1969

#### Science Teacher Workshop? yes

Held: Periodically

Last workshop: 09/30/2011

Average number of teachers attending: 6

#### Collaboration with other societies? yes

Collaborations: Wisconsin Association of Physics Teachers;

Minnesota Area Association of Physics Teachers

Website: http://hps1.org/chapters/ncc/

## **Chapter Leadership & Officers**

**President:** Robert McTaggart **President-elect:** Gordon Tannahill

**Secretary:** David Paulu **Treasurer:** David Paulu

**Council Member:** Charles Roessler **Council Member:** John Bauhs

**Council Member:** Alan Amundson (non-HPS)

**Council Member:** Sherrie Flaherty **Past President:** Chris Kessler

Science Teacher Coordinator: Mike Lewandowski Science Teachers Awards Chair: Daniel J. McGrane

Web Site Editor: Mike Lewandowski

Affiliates Chair: Chris Kessler

Director Liaison: Alex J. Boerner

### **Chapter Incorporation & Exempt Status**

**Applied for Incorporation?** no

### Applied for an Employer Identification Number? yes

Applied to IRS for Tax Exemption? yes IRS tax exemption granted? yes Type of IRS tax exemption: 501-C-3 Tax Exemption application done by: self

Insurance? no

Willing to share IRS paperwork? yes

### **Chapter Membership & Certifications**

HPS Members: 80 non-Members: 40

**Total:** 120

**ABHP Certified:** 21 **NRRPT Certified:** 12

# Meetings/Activities: Meetings/Activities (Aug-11 to Jul-12)

Oct '11 Meeting Topic: Fall Technical Meeting Type: Annual, Technical, Executive Council

Speaker: Dr. Armin Ansari, HPS President-Elect; Dr. Cynthia

Jones - NRC; Mike Lewandowski-3M; Duane Hall-3M; Pete Wildenborg

Attendance: 50

### **Comments**

In 2011, the Chapter had two National HPS Award Winners: Dr. Genevieve Roessler - HPS Distinguished Public Service Award and Mr. Richard Cole - HPS Eichholz Outstanding Science Teacher Award. The Chapter has purchased new digital equipment for use in science teacher workshop kits to be loaned out to teachers. The Chapter has a workshop radiation kit use calendar on the website for scheduling use of science teacher workshop equipment. During the 2010-2011 school year, the kit has been used 7 times by teachers from Minnesota and Wisconsin. The Chapter science and education committee awarded three nuclear and radiation science grants to teachers. Two Chapter members (Mike Lewandowski and Duane Hall) presented at the Science Teacher Workshop on 09/30/2011 at the 3M Teacher's Workshop. Chapter member Dan McGrane has participated in 5 middle and high school career fairs in 2010-2011 to reach out to students and teachers.

This Chapter report was created on 31 October 2011 by Christopher Kessler.