North Central Chapter Report for HPS Society Year 2006–2007

General Information

Official Year: October – September

Mailing Address:

Jan Braun Executive Secretary, Mayo Clinic 200 1st Street SW Rochester, MN 55905 jbraun@mayo.edu

Dues Information:

Plenary: \$10.00 Associate: n/a Student: \$0.00 Emeritus: \$0.00

Life: n/a

Affiliate: \$25.00

Charter Date: 1959

Science Teacher Workshop? yes

Held: Regularly

Frequency: 1 or 2 per year Last workshop: October 2006

Average number of teachers attending: 10

Collaboration with other societies? yes

Collaborations: North Central Chapter AAPM Wisconsin Association of Physics Teachers

Web site: http://hps1.org/chapters/ncc/

Chapter Leadership & Officers

President: Daniel J. McGrane

President–Elect: Mike Lewandowski Secretary: Kimberly Knight–Wiegert Treasurer: Kimberly Knight–Wiegert Council Member: Mary Ellen Jafari

Council Member: George F. Johns (non–HPS)

Council Member: Stephen A Simpson

1

Council Member: Gary L. Yarrow Affiliates Chair: Chris Kessler

Science Teachers Awards Chair: Jason T. Flora

HDER Coordinator: Ken C. Kerns **Website Editor:** Mike Lewandowski

Science Teacher Coordinator: Mike Lewandowski

Director Liaison: Lisa M. Bosworth

Chapter Incorporation & Exempt Status

Applied for Incorporation? no

Applied for an Employer Identification Number? yes

Applied to IRS for Tax Exemption? yes IRS tax exemption granted? yes Type of IRS tax exemption: 501–C–3 Tax Exemption application done by: self

Insurance? no

Willing to share IRS paperwork? yes

Chapter Membership & Certifications

HPS Members: 80 non-Members: 40

Total: 120

ABHP Certified: 21 **NRRPT Certified:** 12

Meetings/Activities: Meetings/Activities (Aug-06 to Jul-07)

Oct '06 Meeting Topic: Fall Meeting

Type: Executive Council

Speaker: Kevin Nelson (HPS), Mark Peters (ANL), and others

Attendance: 45

Apr '07 Meeting Topic: Annual Meeting

Type: Annual, Executive Council

Speaker: various

Attendance: 36

Comments

Chapter activities are at an all time high. The Science Teacher Workshop committee, chaired by M. A. Lewandowski held two workshops and participated in a Science Teacher day last fall. The Science Teacher Award committee, chaired by J. T. Flora recieved three nominations, one of which became our chapter awardee for 2007 (Larry Scheckel). Mr. Scheckel's name was submitted to the HPA Awards committee. We have also submitted a project completed by two young ladies in Iowa for the National Student Science Award. Other members of are working on science teacher instrumentation kits. A membership drive project was conducted by the current president resulting in eight new members at our spring 07 meeting.

This Chapter report was created on June 5, 2007 by Michael Lewandowski.